The BC Water & Waste Association Student Design Competition (BCWWA SDC) promotes "real world" design experience for students interested in pursuing a career and/or education in water and wastewater engineering and sciences. In this competition, teams of students prepare and present a conceptual design that addresses the requirements outlined in design criteria established by a BC municipality.


The BCWWA SDC is based on the Water Environment Federation (WEF) SDC, held annually at the WEF Technical Exhibition & Conference (WEFTEC). The competition is intended to showcase the abilities and talents of students in colleges and universities across British Columbia who are interested in the water environment field. 

To be eligible to participate in the BCWWA SDC, each team member must be:


  • A registered student (full‐time or part‐time) at a college or university in British Columbia.
  • Senior students (3rd, 4th level and graduate) in the environmental, civil, chemical engineering or related fields.
  • A student member of BCWWA or WEF.   


The winning team will present at the BCWWA Annual Conference & Trade Show and compete at the WEFTEC that same year. Both events provide excellent exposure to potential industry employers.


For more information, please contact us at or 604-630-5346.



Key dates


Important documents


Thank you to our 2019 Student Design Competition sponsors:






For more information on sponsorship opportunities for the BCWWA Student Design Competition, contact us at



2018 BCWWA Student Design Team:

Placed first in WEFTEC Student Design Competition environmental category.


  • Project statement: Submit a design to upgrade Ellis Creek in the City of Penticton, aiming to better equip the Creek to deal with the effects of climate change.
  • Winning team: Team DTE - Johnson Li, James Craxton, Steven Rintoul, Lutz Subagio


2017 BCWWA Student Design Team:

Placed second in WEFTEC Student Design Competition wastewater category.


  • Project statement: Design a secondary treatment upgrade for the Tsawout First Nation wastewater treatment plant (WWTP).
  • Winning team: UBSea Tec - Kit Caufield, Brad Jenks, Tim Burton, Jennika Javinson, Antonio Castro, and Gregory Vettese


2016 BCWWA Student Design Team:


  • Project statement: Design a treatment process for the Resort Municipality of Whistler’s (RMoW) wastewater treatment plant (WWTP) to reduce the amount of phosphorus discharged to the Cheakamus River with the treated effluent.
  • Winning team: Team Aquatech Solutions - Leah MacGillivray, Matthew Waldie, Kelsey Baker, Danielle Gutwillinger, Trudy Miller, and Travis Reid.

2015 BCWWA Student Design Team:

Placed third in WEFTEC Student Design Competition wastewater category.


  • Project statement:  Design a resource recovery system for the City of Kelowna's wastewater treatment plant (WWTP), which will focus on anaerobic digestion of fermented primary sludge and waste secondary sludge to produce biogas.
  • Winning team:  Team Undine Energy Solutions - Maureen Long, Clayton McBride, Allison Matfin, Brenden Vissers, and Stephanie Doherty. ​


2014 BCWWA Student Design Team:

Placed first in WEFTEC Student Design Competition environmental category.


  • Project statement: Design a baseflow augmentation facility and water quality treatment facility in Northeast Coquitlam which will sustain minimal baseflows to Star Creek, keep water temperatures low and address water quality. In addition, produce options for the sizing of the two facilities based on the extent of source control applications on single family lots within the catchment area. Evaluate these options using quantitative and qualitative criteria and present your recommended approach with reasons.
  • Winning team: Team FloBeau - Stephen Bertulli, Michael Thiessen, Robert D’Amours, David Saabas, and David Houghton.

2013 BCWWA Student Design Team:

Placed first in WEFTEC Student Design Competition environmental category.


  • Project statement: Design a pilot-scale microalgae cultivation and harvesting system for installation at Metro Vancouver’s Sustainability Academy – Annacis Wastewater Centre. Develop concepts and budget for the longer term goal of co-locating operational-scale microalgae cultivation processes at Metro Vancouver’s Iona Island wastewater treatment plant.
  • Winning team: Laith Furatian, Michal Simhon, Christopher Lawson, Connor Wilson, and Rony Das.